Using rubber mallets

“There is a wonderful story of a group of American car executives who went to Japan to see a Japanese assembly line. At the end of the line, the doors were put on the hinges, the same as in America. But something was missing. In the United States, a line worker would take a rubber mallet and tap the edges of the door to ensure that it fit perfectly. In Japan, that job didn’t seem to exist. Confused, the American auto executives asked at what point they made sure the door fit perfectly. Their Japanese guide looked at them and smiled sheepishly. “We make sure it fits when we design it.” In the Japanese auto plant, they didn’t examine the problem and accumulate data to figure out the best solution—they engineered the outcome they wanted from the BEGINNING. If they didn’t achieve their desired outcome, they understood it was because of a DECISION they made at the start of the process.

Every instruction we give, every course of action we set, every result we desire, starts with the same thing: a DECISION. There are those who decide to manipulate the door to fit to achieve the desired result and there are those who start from somewhere very different.”

We make a lot of decisions on a day-to-day basis. The decisions we make today will have consequences later down the road. Most of us choose to live carelessly by eating what’s readily available, not exercising and ignoring the warning signs. When it comes to our health, this is a poor choice. Everyone WANTS to be healthy but either you’re making choices that take you TOWARD health or your choices are taking you AWAY from health.

The choices I make may seem foreign and dramatic to some people. But because of those choices I continue to move toward health now so that I do not end up trying to scramble and fix a problem with medication or surgery later. And like the American auto executives in the story, you may look at me confused and ask, “well what do you do when you get a headache?” I would look at you and smile sheepishly, “I don’t get headaches.”

Now I won’t sit here and tell you I’m 100% perfect in every decision I make (only One in our lifetime was perfect). But I know what I put in my body will eventually become a part of me. I’m a high performance machine. And just like you would never put a Twinkie in a Ferrari, I wouldn’t put a Twinkie in my mouth. You are what you…eat, digest, absorb, and assimilate.

I don’t enjoy every minute of exercise, working out until it hurts, putting kale in my smoothie, waiting an hour for my chicken to cook, cutting up 7 different veggies, or spending an hour in the grocery store reading the labels. But it’s what I do to keep myself healthy. I do those things now so I don’t need a rubber mallet later.

If 5/6 Americans are dying from heart and cancer I’m doing whatever it takes to be that 1/6. And don’t be an idiot and say “it’s not going to be me.” Because the truth is, if you’re living the same way most Americans live; eating the same foods, not exercising daily, making poor decisions, etc… then you are headed in the wrong direction and it will be you.

God designed us all to live to 120 years old. He didn’t design our hearts to fail at 51, kidneys to shut down at 36, arteries to clog at 48, etc…

Our lifestyle has to be congruent with health. We must PLAN to have good health. Otherwise, we’re planning on failing and losing our health. Don’t wait until there’s a problem. Start living healthy now. And please don’t say something like, “well we only live once and I wanna have fun.” It’s that childish and selfish attitude that gets most of us in a crisis situation with our health and end up needing major surgery or loving in a nursing home. If that is your attitude, I’d also like you to call up the people you love most and inform them, “I don’t plan on taking care of myself now, but I fully expect you to take care of me later in my life.”

You can find more information online or at your closest Maximized Living Doctor. But honestly, the last thing we all need is more information. Either you just wasted 5 minutes of your life, or you’ll take action and do something to bring yourself closer to health. The choice is yours!

Action steps:
1. Quit using rubber mallets
2. Put high octane fuel in your Ferrari, not twinkies
3. Get to a Maximized Living Doc: find a doc here

In health,
Dr. McNabb

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
~ Philippians 4:13

*Excerpt from “Start With Why” by Simon Sinek

Leave a Reply

